The Fionavar Tapestry is a trilogy of fantasy novels by Canadian author Guy Gavriel Kay, published between and The novels are partly set in our . The Fionavar Tapestry (Q) enwiki The Fionavar Tapestry; eswiki El tapiz de Fionavar; frwiki La Tapisserie de Fionavar; hewiki מארג פיונאבאר; hrwiki. Libros de Segunda Mano (posteriores a ) – Literatura – Narrativa – Ciencia Ficción y Fantasía: Trilogia el tapiz de fionavar: arbol verano fuego errante.

Author: Zolotaur Akinolkis
Country: Ecuador
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Sex
Published (Last): 2 March 2015
Pages: 365
PDF File Size: 6.99 Mb
ePub File Size: 15.41 Mb
ISBN: 818-7-54301-788-8
Downloads: 29757
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Maugal

Galadan – Lord of the Andain offspring of a mating between god and mortala shapechanger who can take the shape of a malevolent black wolf with a silver splash on its head; he e with Maugrim but for his own openly nihilistic ends.

Mortals getting in the path of or following the Hunt could be kidnapped and brought to the land of the dead.

A thousand years ago the combined might of all the races of Fionavar came against him and, after a final tremendous battle they defeated him and chained him beneath the mountain Rangat. His role seems to be a sky-god who is connected with oak trees, somewhat like Zeus in classical mythology.

Cader Sedat, the island where the renegade mage Metran works his dark magic in The Wandering Fireis the analogue of Caer Sidi from the poem Preiddeu Annwfna poem that is, in the trilogy, ascribed to Taliesinone of the names used by Flidais.

He has two sons, the elder of whom, Aileron, is in exile. A main thread of the story is the replaying of the legends of King ArthurLancelot and Guinevereall of whom appear in the story. The map of Fionavar shows the northwestern part of the continent and its western coasts, bordered by an ocean, like most of the Middle-earth maps drawn by Tolkien, especially of Beleriand. The Fionavar Tapestry is a trilogy of fantasy novels by Canadian author Guy Gavriel Kaypublished between and The younger, Diarmuid, although a fearless and elegant fighter is also apparently frivolous, impulsive, and shallow.


The stories incorporate, either directly or indirectly, a number of other myths. Arthur is brought into Fionavar as The Warrior by Kimberley; Lancelot is revived in Cader Sedat in the second book, and Guinevere’s life and memories awaken within Jennifer; the three reenact some though not all of their well-known tale as expiation for their sins.

Fionavar has many similarities to Tolkien’s Middle-earthand seems to be directly influenced by it perhaps not surprising, since Kay worked with Christopher Tolkien to edit The Silmarillion and prepare it for publication. Since he came from outside the Loom, has no thread on the Weaver’s Loom and so cannot be destroyed.

The Fionavar Tapestry

Of particular interest to the story is the Third Tribe, under the leadership of Ivor dan Bannor and their shaman, Gereint. The novels are fionavaar set in our own contemporary world, but mostly in the fictional world of Fionavar.

When the Baelroth demands that Kim call the Dragon into the struggle she refuses for moral reasons. The Paraiko, the peaceful giants of the mountains. The books’ original cover illustrations were created by Martin Springett.

This article needs additional citations for verification. Kay’s central concept in the novels is that Fionavar is the first of worlds, particularly in a mythological sense; the sagas and tales of other fipnavar originate or culminate in this most primary of settings. Ailell dan Art is the High King of Brennin. The Men of Eridu, a proud and independent race, have been wiped out by a mysterious poisonous rain.

Historically the Council of the Mages, headquartered in Brennin, may include up to seven mages, but at the time of the story there are only three: By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. Wukong, knowing that he could coverli in one leap, smugly agreed. The Book of Taapiz a grimoire belonging to a mad mage of the past includes secret knowledge of an abominable method by which a mage may gain power from more than one source.

Nothing was visible except for five pillars Lancelot’s encounter with Leyse of the lios alfar, her hopeless love for him and subsequent departure by boat for the lios alfar’s home in the West is a retelling of the tale of Lancelot and Elaine.


Paul is known as Pwyll after his sacrifice, while Macha and Nemain come straight from Irish mythology. Pendaran, a wood of the Lios Alfar that has now become perilous, echoes Mirkwood which, with the return of the Necromancer, becomes dark and sinister. The lios alfar or Light Elves, live in Daniloth, a beautiful land in the northwest corner of the land which they have of necessity wrapped in a confusing mist as protection from Maugrim and others who wish them evil.

Jealous of the Weaver’s creation, he broke into Fionavar just as the Weaver had completed his work, bringing fear, pain, distress, and great evil. Arthur has long since forgiven Guinevere and Lancelot; Paul must learn to forgive himself for his girlfriend Rachel’s death; Galadan at the end is forgiven his evil past and offered a second chance; Darien at the end understands his mother’s treatment of him and forgives her; and more.


The fundamental premise of the hunt is usually the same, a group of phantasmal huntsmen in mad pursuit across the skies. Each tribe is led its own chieftain, helped by the tribe’s shaman who is ritually blinded in youth the better to focus the sight of his inner eye. This page was last edited on 5 Septemberat When Wukong tried to escape, Buddha turned his hand into a mountain.

He is able to take the form of a white owl. Once there, each discovers his or her own role and destiny in the framework of an epic conflict.